History of the American Flag

A Brief History of the American Flag

The American flag is also called the American national flag or just the US flag. It is widely acknowledged by people across the world as the symbol of our unity, dedication, and freedom. It serves as a prominent symbol for all Americans. The design of this flag is prescribed by Congress and the National Archives. On the flag, the stars are arranged in a shape of a circle, which is also known as the Stars and Stripes. On the same spot, on the map, the location of the US capital is marked with the red-colored three-pointed star.


There are many explanations about the design

and formation of the American flag. Some believe that it was adopted by the Continental Congress as a sign of support for the fledgling country. However, the red-white-and-blue striped banner has already been used by the Continental Army at the battle of Monmouth, Massachusetts in 16aged. The American Red Cross was the name of the institution when it was created in 1700. The American Indians used the red, white, and blue stripes to mark their camps during the war and it was also used by prisoners of war as identification.


In addition to the American Red Cross

the army also used the American Colors of the American Revolution. The American Indians used red for the Union and blue for the States. At the Fort Mchenry National Monument in Florida, you will find a monumental American flag pole facing east. This flagpole was erected by General George Custer. The fort was constructed by General George A. Custer’s men and the fort was originally called Camphola.


The United States Army also flies a flag

known as the American eagle and the Stars and Stripes. This flag is specially designed for the Air Force, Navy, and Marine Corps. The flag is hoisted to the top of a pole and is referred to as an aerial flag and is one of the most well recognized and revered flags in the United States of America.


The states that have incorporated the American Flag

into their statehood seal are Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin. Each statehood seal represents a group of states with the same heritage and a loyal following. The fifty statehood stars, which are also referred to as American flags, represent each state that has joined the union. When these stars are ordered and folded into a union of four, they form the shape of a pyramid. The fifty stars, when placed on a forty-two-inch square flagpole are regarded as a standard flag.


Different groups within the United States

view the different associations of the American Flag differently. Some see it as a symbol of freedom and historical memory, while others believe that the stars and stripes symbolize those same things but with a different context. Within the political party system the terms Red, Blue, and Orange are used to denote the more conservative and liberal viewpoints, respectively. Those within the military establishment view the Red Star-Banner as a symbol of brotherhood amongst comrades, while the blue star is said to represent the flag given to soldiers who have made the ultimate sacrifice. Many individuals who do not have any political or military affiliation consider the American Flag to be nothing more than an acknowledgment of pride for all nations that have joined the United States in its revolution.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *